I have been converted…

1956 Butterick 9563 in black linen

1956 Butterick 9563 in black linen

I have been converted.  Until this year, vintage patterns were to be bought, coo’ed over, packaged up & stored in a box, somewhere safe.  I love them, love the prettieness of them, but never really considered wearing vintage myself.  It’s just not “me”.  But this year something changed.  It all started in February when Rochelle from Lucky Lucille issued her Sew for Victory sewalong.  I’m also blaming daughter no2.  I floated the idea of making something for her, promising all the while it would not look too “old-fashioned”.  Well, it didn’t, what’s more, she looked great in what I made & asked for another.

So basically it’s their fault I’ve neglected my Japanese pattern cutting books & my original blog which was to document all the completely-from-scratch garments I was going to make.  Daughter No2 was made for vintage.  In fact, to be perfectly honest with you, she was made to wear just about anything!  She is my principal muse & model, my Vintage Belle.

You can see what trouble I get into on my Vintage board on Pinterest, and how far into it all I am on my Burdastyle projects page!  It’s got to the stage where I am selling some of the stuff now on Etsy too!  And still I sew.  I don’t think I’ll be truly satisfied until I’ve made up every pattern I have – so this is going to be a long journey!

I leave you with some photos of work done…

1956 Butterick 9563 in pistachio twill

1956 Butterick 9563 in pistachio twill

1953 simplicity 4372 in blue floral cotton lawn

1953 simplicity 4372 in blue floral cotton lawn

1942 McCalls 4460 in grey & white spot cotton

1942 McCalls 4460 in grey & white spot cotton

1954 Simplicity 4746 in spotty cotton

1954 Simplicity 4746 in spotty cotton

1965 Butterick 9563 blue floral cotton sheath

1965 Butterick 9563 blue floral cotton sheath

1950s Simplicity 2971 in ecru & dark navy spot cotton

1950s Simplicity 2971 in ecru & dark navy spot cotton

1954 Simplicity 4746 in yacht print cotton

1954 Simplicity 4746 in yacht print cotton

1957 McCalls 4003 in mint & cream swirly print cotton. This with bound buttonholes to boot!

1957 McCalls 4003 in mint & cream swirly print cotton. This with bound buttonholes to boot! 

There is more to come, September saw Rochelle & Tasha rolling out Fall for Cotton, & over at The Monthly Stitch the challenge was to sew something vintage….

6 responses to “I have been converted…

Leave a Reply

