‘Mum’s the Word

1954 McCalls 9277

1953 McCalls 9277

Such a good skirt pattern, let me tell you!  The pockets hide most of the shaping in this skirt and they have a cute notch detail.  I have made this pattern up twice now, and love the results.  In my previous post I showed you the construction of the skirt, but I was in search of a model to show it off, as the measurements are too big for Belle.  I finally persuaded a good friend to do it.  I think I owe her a box of choccies after the trauma!  😀

McCalls 9277 in Liberty print cotton canvas

McCalls 9277 in Liberty print cotton canvas

Who doesn’t like a Liberty print? There are so many fabulous designs in lovely colourways, but this one waved at me in my local fabric shop.  I must keep my eyes open for this print in a lawn – swoon!  I love the colours and the print is fabulous for autumn!  The overall length is shorter than it would have been worn originally.  I have taken out 12cm & turned up a 5cm hem.  With this one hitting just below the knee, can you imagine how much longer it would have been with the 12cm still in?

I love the shape of this skirt

I love the shape of this skirt

The slightly A-line shape means it’s easy to walk – or stride around the office or out shopping.  There is also a vent in the (only) centre back seam to help you along a bit.  We decided to keep the styling modern & minimal with this print, but it would be fabulous with grey, shades of blue & of course some mustard!

A season changer!

A season changer!

I have a fabulous piece of stretch cotton twill in a deep purple from Croft Mill Fabrics to make another in.  It’s going to look fabulous dahling!  😀  Next post will be the rose print – another Liberty!  There was a slight change of plan in the pattern I used, but that story will keep.

If you want this skirt in your wardrobe this autumn, get it in my Etsy shop!  There won’t be another in this fabric – ever!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

