Something Silvery

Butterick 2905 from the 1906s

Butterick 2905 from the 1906s

I love this pattern!  🙂  There is something in the shape of the skirts…   This is one from my Mum’s stash which I’ve had for about 20 years or so now.  The envelope is much the worse for wear, the instructions missing but the pattern pieces all accounted for.

I’ve wanted to make a dress from this pattern for ages, and after a play in my stash cupboard found (re-found?) this piece of broiderie anglaise.  It is white, with a fine layer of silver over the top.  It’s like someone went over it with a paintbrush, just dusting it and catching more silver in the embroidered bits than on the smooth cotton.  I bought a fine white cotton lawn to line the bodice with & a stiffer white cotton for the skirt.  Something needs to hold those pleats in shape.  It wouldn’t do for them to go all flpppy, they’re the main attraction!

Silver broiderie anglaise

Silver broiderie anglaise

I’m planning to use French seams throughout because of the little holes in the anglaise.  I don’t want any flappy seams or shaggy allowances on show here!  This is gong to be my 2nd offering for Frocktober – I had thought I might make one dress a week.  Just as well I didn’t make that a promise!  It’s not like I don’t have any other patterns, or any other fabric.  It’s putting the right fabric together with the right dress & feeling they’re “right” that always holds me up.  Anyway, I think this is going to be a lovely dress for the Christmas party season. (Yes, I did say that word – CHRISTMAS!!!)  😀  Not long to go really…

So I’d best get this made up, and tomorrow looks like a good day for it what with the expected rain etc again.  I really mustn’t complain.  Afterall, England would hardly be “this green & pleasant land” without the rain now, would it??

3 responses to “Something Silvery

  1. Pingback: Purple Reign | Vintage Belle·

Leave a Reply

