A Quick Catch-up & a Sneek Peek

November is very nearly at its end, so I thought I’d quickly update on the sewing plans.  So far I’ve finished one of the jackets I’d planned, but the other one has taken a bit of a back seat!  I had cut out a navy wool cropped jacket from a 1955 Simplicity pattern, which then got stuck.  I just wasn’t “feeling” it.  When I cut the bomber jacket for November I thought I’d be clever & make the two together.  Yeah.  That didn’t work!  But – I did finish the navy jacket, so at least I got another jacket finished, just not the one I had intended!

Ever hopefull - attempting to make two jackets at once...

Ever hopefull – attempting to make two jackets at once…

I have made a start on the gorgeous viscose & silk bird print dress, so fingers crossed by the end of Saturday that will be done too, but I haven’t had a chance to glance at the last project on my list.  Other things have cropped up & I made a blouse for Belle & a pair of trousers for my eldest as well this month.  I guess that dress-to-be-a-coat will have to shift into December, where I have a feeling there are other projects lined up already!

A little collage of the details on the navy jacket.

A little collage of the details on the navy jacket.

I have a tendency to overestimate what I’ll get done in the time I have.  Does anyone else have that problem??  So now all I need is a bit of cold winter sunshine to photograph the navy jacket in, because dark colours don’t show up well indoors!  Will I get the dress done in time?  Who knows, but at least I’ve cut it out & marked it up.  After that it’s easy!  ;p

Birds in Flight dress

Birds in Flight dress

In other news, I got a parcel from the USA this week with 32 new-to-me vintage patterns & some lengths of fabric!  I need more time to make these fabulous patterns up!

6 responses to “A Quick Catch-up & a Sneek Peek

    • It really is most beautiful, so hard to describe the handle on it, but it’s soft & floaty, but with good drape. I need another me to cope with all I want to do! 🙂

Leave a Reply

