Just a little Bow

1947 Simplicity 4608

1947 Simplicity 4608

I have a real thing for vintage blouses.  If you make them from the right fabric they look very period, but put them in something modern & who would even know??  This blouse snuck onto my “to sew” list about half way through November when I caught sight of Seamstress Erin’s Bow-Neck Blouse Sewalong.  Who could say no?  I figured I have loads of patterns, just pick one….  Hmm.  Funny thing, despite having over 200 vintage patterns, I only have a handful with bows & I wasn’t “feeling” any of them.

Then a parcel containing 32 patterns & some lengths of fabric arrived from America from my bestie.  Problem solved!  Now I had two to pick from, as well as a fabric I thought was pretty cool for the time period.  I still couldn’t make my mind up though, so posted this on my Facebook page & asked for votes…

The choices, big floppy bow or neat tie.

The choices, big floppy bow or neat tie.

The vote was a tie – wouldn’t you just guess!  🙂  In the end, it was the fabric that clinched it.  I really wanted to use this print cotton & it was definitely not suitable for a big floppy bow.  That pattern wants a pretty silk – or maybe some Liberty Lawn.  The chosen pattern was interesting, sort of part-printed.  I had fun tracing it off, so much easier to do on a fully printed pattern!

Part printed Simplicity pattern

Part printed Simplicity pattern

As for putting it together, it was dead easy, once I’d remembered the change in seam allowance.  There is a 1/2″ allowance on the side seams, including the sleeve & armhole seams, & 3/4″ everywhere else.  This meant I had to be alert & have my imperial measuring gadget ready to make sure I was in the right place!  At least it means you can alter the width if needed & still have enough seam allowance to work with.

Simplicity 4608 in print cotton

Simplicity 4608 in print cotton

I really like the little bow, although I don’t, as a rule, wear tops that close right up to my neck.  It all looks a bit much, so I prefer collars with revers.  However, this is too cute!  The cotton holds the long tucks nicely & the whole blouse is nice & crisp.  I got a couple of compliments in the florists while doing the photos!  Usually it’s Belle on the receiving end of the compliments, so it felt quite nice.

Admiring the stock in Lucy Walker Flowers

Admiring the stock in Lucy Walker Flowers

I must thank Erin for hosting the sewalong, although I didn’t get the blouse finished by the end of November (only cut it out on Sunday 1 December! sshhhh, don’t tell!) I enjoyed making it.  With the pile of patterns I have, it’s nice to get a nudge in a certain direction, otherwise I just make what I feel like seeing made up.  Not that that’s all that bad.

Trying to strike a 1940s pose

Trying to strike a 1940s pose

I also need to thank Lucy Walker from the florists for allowing me to pose around her little florist shop for these photos!  A little plug – if you’re in the South Warwickshire area & love country flowers, Lucy’s your girl.  While you’re admiring the flowers though, take a look at all the fabulous vintage finds hidden amongst the vases, gorgeous candles & cute pots.  She has the most eclectic stock I’ve ever seen in a flower shop!  Needless to say I pop in often for a chat & a browse.  Sometimes I even buy flowers!  😀

Loving the sleeve with faux cuff

Loving the sleeve with faux cuff

All in all a very cute blouse.  I want to make the long sleeve version soon (view 2).  I have a dark blue silk satin that would look absolutely fabulous, I must just make sure I have enough!  This blouse will be making an appearance in my Etsy shop in the next few days if you’re interested…

In the mean time, I have a dress to finish.

One response to “Just a little Bow

Leave a Reply

