Vintage Pattern Shopping Spree

Tewksbury Abbey in the Spring

Tewksbury Abbey in the Spring

Ahh, look at that.  Nothing prettier than the English countryside when the sun comes out, especially if it’s shining on such a fabulous piece of architecture.  This is Tewksbury Abbey.  And no, I didn’t go to see the church, or even the town with its fair share of half-timbered buildings.

Tewksbury

Tewksbury

No – I went hunting for vintage patterns.  A good friend had given me a pretty vintage pattern & a length of fabric for my birthday, along with the card for a vintage shop in Tewksbury called Replay.    Saturday had dawned, clear of clouds & that constant rain, so I conned Husband into going for a drive on “such a pretty, sunny day”.  When he asked, “Where do you want to drive to?” I had the perfect answer!

Apparently Replay has been going in various guises since 1987.  So if you’re in the Gloucestershire area & are into vintage, you probably already know all there is to know about the place.  Anyway, it’s a pretty small shop in a rather lovely building.  It’s PACKED with stuff all vying for your attention.  The worst offenders were all the sparkly small items – brooches, necklaces…..  I had to keep calm.  I was hunting patterns!

And I found them.  I had to be ruthless, they were so helpless, so easy to pick up.  But I narrowed down the selection to the strongest contenders.  Would you like to see my trophies?

DSC07624

These are the larger sizes, bust 40 & 42

The coats here were what caught my eye.  I have none in my collection in these sizes, and quite stylish too.  Then that dress pattern – oh!  So pretty!  I don’t know much about LeRoy patterns, anyone got some info?

DSC07621

The 38’s

There are so many things I like about these!  The McCall’s coat dress is probably my favourite.  I love that they call it a dress, but also show it as a coat too.  The French darts & Neru collar are bonus details that make it different.  The Style dress pattern is a great all-rounder, & everyone needs a mac-style coat, right?

DSC07617

Some 70s chic & a 60s coat

I really like the Simplicity dress pattern, I know Belle would like that made up.  The Style coat came without any instructions or fabric requirements, but I like the style-lines.  I’d make it a little more fitting than it shows, but it has good bones.  The Maudella has a cool sleeveless blouse, love the tie!

DSC07616

Always so many good patterns in the 34 bust range!

Three patterns from the 60s & one from the 50s.  Again, that is a LeRoy pattern.  How gorgeous is that dress!?  I bought it purely for the back!!  Then we have the Simplicity suit pattern – I love that jacket.  The other dress patterns couldn’t be more different, given they are both from the 60s.  I can see the Butterick in a beautiful silk, & the Simplicity has a passing resemblance to now popular Emery pattern.

DSC07619

The last of my drool-pile!  I love that Butterick pattern with the deep pleat running from the princess seams.  The cape pattern is going to be used a lot!  The cigarette pants are included.  The Vogue pattern is destined for my friend in America who sends me all sorts of stunning patterns – I love the collar, and much prefer it with a belt than left loose.

So, to make room for these, I needed to make a little room.  So I have reluctantly chosen a couple of my hoard to sell.

Vintage patterns for sale

Vintage patterns for sale

  1. Simplicity 2081 dated 1947, bust 42.    This pattern is factory folded, uncut.  I’m quite amazed that it’s never been used!  The envelope is in pretty good condition, only a little bumped on the corners, no rips or tears & the flap is intact.  The bodice, styled with soft pleats at the front waistline and gathers at the back, features a collar that is cut in one with the bodice front.  A shoulder yoke releases easy bodice fullness.  Front pleats enhance the skirt which joins the bodice at the natural waistline.  Topstitching accents the fly-front opening and a purchased or self belt may be used.  In Style 1 the three quarter sleeve is gathered into a cuffed band.  The short sleeve of Style 2 has a narrow cuff that is cut in one with the sleeve.  Embroidery trims the dress – transfer included.
  2. Simplicity 4775 dated 1943, bust 38.  Currently reservedSOLD
  3. Simplicity 2098 dated 1947, bust 34.  Currently reserved.  SOLD
  4. SOLD
  5. Simplicity 4407 dated 1942, bust 42.  This pattern is factory folded, uncut.  Women’s slack suit.  The slacks are seamed at the sides and the waistline is fitted with small pleats.  The jacket is dart fitted through the waistline and seamed down the centre back.  Neckline may be finished with a notched collar or may remain collarless.  Welt pockets trim the front.  Choice of long or short sleeves.
  6. Simplicity 2232 dated 1947, bust 36.  The coat is fitted with darts at the front shoulder and the back yoke releases an easy flare.  A pointed collar and flap pockets finish the coat.  the sleeve, cut in two sections, is faced at the lower edge and folds back to form a cuff.  Topstitching is used for trimming.  The coat is lined and interlined.  Style 1 is a full length coat.  In Style 2 the coat is three-quarter length.

If any of these look tempting to you, leave me a comment.  🙂

And if you’re in the Tewksbury area, pop into Replay on Church street!

10 responses to “Vintage Pattern Shopping Spree

  1. Oh I love Tewkesbury Abbey. When I lived in Englad I used to come by every once in a while! Just splendid – as is your pattern haul. Slight pattern envy problem here 😉

    • It is rather pretty, but also looking a bit sad with lots of empty shops. Just need summer sun & a lot of hanging baskets, full of colourful flowers!

  2. Wow, I completely understand why you need to make some room in your vintage pattern stash! That McCalls coat/dress is fabulous – you’ve selected some very lovely garments! Quite fortunate that I’m on the other side of the world somedays, the temptation would just be too much! 😉

    • I never usually have this sort of luck in shops – this is the first time! They are gorgeous though, now to chose which to make first, & see if I have a suitable fabric!

  3. Pingback: A quick make to get me started | Vintage Belle·

Leave a Reply

