Spotty boat-neck Blouse

1956 Simplicity 1727

1956 Simplicity 1727

Another vintage pattern made up!  I’ve been a bit slow on the vintage makes this year.  I really needed to make more stuff for myself, so have neglected this a bit.  Not that I didn’t stop looking – or buying, as my last post shows!

So, I did a version of 2 of these options.  I love the wide collar of view 4, but wasn’t keen on the casing & tie on the bottom.  I also love the three quarter sleeves with 3 little darts at the elbow.  I used view 3 for the sleeves & neckline, the collar from 4 and the length and dart shaping from 1.  Simples. 😉

1956 Simplicity 1727 in blue & white spot cotton

1956 Simplicity 1727 in blue & white spot cotton

I had just enough of this cute spot cotton to cut it all out.  Belle loves it, but in a different fabric for her.  It’ll have to go on the long list of things I still need to make!  That neckline is even better in real life than in the picture.  There are 4 waist darts in total on the front, plus underarm darts.  These all mean there is a great shape in the blouse, it has quite an elongating effect!

Simplicity 1712  the obligatory back shot

Simplicity 1712 the obligatory back shot

A shaped back seam and a further 4 darts in the back mean no bagginess here either.  The pattern made up really easily, there is no fussiness so it’s quick too!  I used French seams throughout, double turned the hem & faced the sleeve hems with contrast white bias binding.

DSC076281-1

DSC07632-1

DSC07637-1

I wonder what fabric Belle would prefer hers to be in, if she’s not that keen on the spots?  It’s not like she’ll be short of choices if she looks in my fabric stash!  This one will be in my Etsy shop later today, while I carry on with my cataloguing of my vintage patterns.

I read a post over the weekend by Charity of The Daring Domestic, where she had recently downloaded Evernote and was singing its praises. I desperately needed a method of recording my patterns that didn’t involve a notebook & lots of scribbling.  This is much more visual – I can put it on my phone (yes, there’s even an app my useless Windows phone actually has!) so I can have instant access, whenever I need it!  I have started the long process of scanning front & back pattern envelopes, noting the sizes, condition of the patterns etc.  It’s going to be a long haul, but already I’m really happy with it.  Especially if it means I get to spend some time with these gorgeous things, instead of them being permanently in boxes.  That’s the next thing to sort though.  I really do need to make proper storage for my treasures.

What, if any, system do you use for keeping track of your patterns (& fabric, if you’re that organised) and how do you store yours?

4 responses to “Spotty boat-neck Blouse

  1. Love the blouse, Anne!! I just got a dress pattern with that same type of collar — can’t wait to try it out. So glad the pattern system is working well for you!

  2. Would you be able to draw a pattern/ have instructions since it’s a mish mash of different bits from the pattern book? I would love to recreate it- it’s amazing!

    • It sounds more complicated than it is. The two different necklines & lengths/hem treatments and all the darts are on the same pieces. You just have to decide which features you want and take it from there. In the instructions you’ll need to follow the instructions for the view you have chosen.

  3. Pingback: Picking pansies in the Spring | Vintage Belle·

Leave a Reply

