Lucky Number Three

1953 Butterick 8097

1953 Butterick 8097

I’ve made it again!  This Butterick pattern is really paying for its keep quite well!  It is so quick to make I really should use it more often.  This time I’ve used the sleeveless version.  I had bought a selection of fabrics from the local charity shop for a grand total of just over £3 a few weeks ago, one piece I knew I’d be using pretty quickly, and I already knew the pattern I wanted!

DSC07687

This piece is a viscose/cotton blend crinkle, dark navy blue with white & grey diamond print.  It had been used before and so was never going to be enough for anything with sleeves.  The fabric has the most amazing drape which works so well with the gathers in the back above the shoulder blades.  The armholes are finished with self bias strips hand stitched to the inside.   The buttons were from my stash & match the colouring of the print perfectly!  Belle was so happy with this one that she wore it to school on Friday, I’d only finished it on Thursday afternoon!  It was perfect timing, this week has been sunny (once the fog had lifted) and warm.

Butterick 8097 in navy print viscose/cotton

Butterick 8097 in navy print viscose/cotton

 

The back gathers softly into the yoke

The back gathers softly into the yoke

Apologies for the slight wrinkling – that’s what happens after a day of wear at school.

DSC07688

So the only version of this I have yet to make is the short sleeves with cuffs.  Perhaps after next week’s visit to the NEC I will have found the perfect fabric for that too!

 

Leave a Reply

