Preparing for the Summer with a 60s Coat Dress

I’ve been working on a little project that I suddenly decided to make yesterday afternoon.  I’ve had the fabric in one of my stash boxes for a while, and had always intended it to be a summer coat of some sort, but never found the right pattern.  It’s a jungle-leaf print stretch cotton twill, medium weight.   I’d been browsing through my box of 60s patterns when one stood out – and I remembered this fabric.  I had just enough too, it was definitely time to get this stuff cut!

The pattern is McCalls 9604 from 1968, a coat and dress in two lengths.  I love the neru collar and the curved French dart.  The back has a shaped central seam & darts to help shape & fit.  The overall shape & length of the coat is still quite modern, so I can’t wait to see it done!  It’s not quite finished, 5 bound buttonholes do take a little while to make, and sewing 8.5m of bias binding to the seams, hems & raw edges is also most definitely time consuming!  But – it will all be worth it!  Do you want to see..?

1968 McCalls 9604 dress or coat (or both!)

1968 McCalls 9604 dress or coat (or both!)

 

Then, when this is done, I have the cutest fabric to make the most superb dress, ready?

Le-Roy 397

Le-Roy 397

Aren’t those birds too cute??  This is one of the patterns I bought in Tewksbury & it’s been begging to be made, but only in the best fabric, of course!  I think this will work…  🙂

9 responses to “Preparing for the Summer with a 60s Coat Dress

  1. Pingback: It’s Atomic! | Mercury – Handmade Fashion·

  2. This looks just divine! And I salute your bias binding prowess – I have been know to make linings just to avoid the bias binding …
    Can’t wait to see the birdie-dress!

    • I love binding the seams in unlined jackets. It takes so much longer, but I love the look, particularly if it’s a contrast fabric or colour!

  3. Reblogged this on Vintage Patterns Dazespast Blog and commented:
    I simply adore this pattern–I too am working on a few retro summer outfits–I really do need to share. I also finished a bra and two ankle length dresses. I’m also working on a back button over-blouse in a primitive print and finished the back opening with the beautiful Hon Kong finish and now I need to complete my buttonholes. Watch for pictures to be added to this post. I love vintage! By the way your bound buttonholes are perfectly beautiful.

    • Thank you! 🙂 Hong Kong finish is one of my favourites for unlined items, particularly jackets! Thanks for the reblog, by the way.

    • Thanks! 🙂 The birdie fabric called out to me, loud & clear! I’ve not cut it yet, just one more thing to make first…

  4. Pingback: Vintage Belle-Prepares for the Summer with 60s Coat Dress·

Leave a Reply

