Picking pansies in the Spring

1956 Simplicity 1727

1956 Simplicity 1727

This is the second outing for this pattern, this time in a Liberty pansy print tana lawn.  The blouse is destined for  one of the florists in town, so the print is very appropriate!  She asked me to make her one like the polka dot blouse I made earlier, but without the stand-up collar.  So here it is.

Simplicity 1727 in Liberty print lawn.

Simplicity 1727 in Liberty print lawn.

I love the fabric, it’s so cute & summery!  I used French seams throughout (there are only 4) a finish I almost always use on Liberty cotton.  It makes for such a pretty, neat inside.  This is a really quck & easy pattern to make.  There are no sleeves to set in and no buttons or buttonholes to make.  It just pulls over the head.  I suppose if you were worried you could use the back seam to make a keyhole opening & fasten with a button & loop, but with the width of the neckline, this really isn’t necessary.

DSC08337-1The only thing that’s a pain with this top is the darts.  Why?  Because there are 16 of them!  Yup, you read that correctly, sixteen.  They do turn this top from what could be a bit of a sack into a beautifully shaped garment, and then there are 3 on each of the sleeves creating a shaped sleeve which is so typical of the period.  So if you hate sewing darts, this might not be the pattern for you!

DSC08333-1Now I’m just waiting for Belle to ask whether there is more of this fabric to make something for her..  I think the florist will be happy though!

DSC08331-1

DSC08329-1I have finished the 60s coat dress too, I just need to get some photographs for you, it looks fabulous!  🙂

4 responses to “Picking pansies in the Spring

  1. Very pretty! I will be in Stratford tomorrow so will check out florists to see if anyone is wearing it already. I don’t think I would wait if it was mine 🙂

  2. Pingback: Dreaming of Spring | Vintage Belle·

Leave a Reply

