Dreaming of Spring

1956 Simplicity 1727

1956 Simplicity 1727

In a bid to use up my stash fabrics, I gave in to Belle’s request for a version of Simplicity 1727 for herself.  She wanted one in the remains of the Liberty lawn pansy print that I’d made earlier in the year for a local florist.  She decided not to go with the low roll collar as she thought it would get in the way of jackets and cardigans.  She chose a combination of view 3’s neckline and view 1’s darts and sleeves.

1956 Simplicity 1727 in Liberty lawn

1956 Simplicity 1727 in Liberty lawn

I like this top, it’s simple and, depending on your fabric choice, cute.  The only thing I don’t like about it is all the darned darts!  It took a couple of hours to make and I’m happy to have completed another item on my ever growing list of things to make!  As usual I used French seams throughout, double turned the hem & finished the sleeve hems with self-bias.  The facings are interfaced with Gill Arnold’s fine cotton fusible interfacing.  With this being the third time I’ve used the pattern I hope I can move on to some of the other blouses in my pattern stash.  Too many patterns, not enough time or fabric  🙂

DSC00103-1

DSC00105-1

I’m hoping to be able to photograph Megan in the Vintage Butterick dress made with the black jacquard from Fancy Silks very soon.  It was completed a couple of weeks ago but as I have yet to see her it remains unphotographed.  I also hope to get a tutorial up for the French seams soon, in a bid to continue the series on seam finishes.  I hope the tutorials are proving useful to someone!

4 responses to “Dreaming of Spring

  1. My list is never ending and growing too! I recently wrote one out and taped it above my machine… the problem is as soon as I go looking through my stash I find MORE things I need to pull out and add to my list! Belle’s blouse looks great. Nice simple lines…

    • haha, yeah, I gave up on making visible lists, just have a pile on the sewing table I need to work through, then I go digging for more. Unless something sneaks in because I’ve found a pattern or fabric I’m desperate to see made up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

